## GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

**Department of National Revenue.** From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue. It operates now under RSC 1970, c.N-15.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, old age security tax, Part I of the Canada Pension Plan, and collection of premiums and administration of the coverage provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act through its 28 district taxation offices and the head office and Taxation Data Centre in Ottawa.

Department of Public Works. The Department of Public Works was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act (RSC 1970, c.P-38). It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and protection work. Federal government interest in the Trans-Canada Highway and the Northwest Highway System is also handled by the Department. The Department has six regional offices at Halifax, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver. Subsidiary offices at other key points across the country are also maintained. Departmental organization includes the following major areas of operation: Realty; Design and Construction; Technological Research and Development; Special Projects, together with the Directorate of Public Relations and Information; the Senior Adviser, Finance and Management; the Senior Personnel Adviser; the Senior Policy Adviser and the Dominion Fire Commissioner.

**Department of Regional Economic Expansion**. This Department was established in 1969 (RSC 1970, c.R-4). Its function is to ensure that economic growth is dispersed widely enough across Canada to bring employment and earning opportunities in the slow-growth regions as close as possible to those in the other parts of the country, without interfering with a high over-all rate of national growth. The legislation authorizes the Department, in co-operation with provincial governments and other federal agencies, to prepare development plans and programs designed to meet the special needs of particular areas.

The Department has six major divisions, each under the control of an Assistant Deputy Minister: Planning and Co-ordination, Administration, and the Eastern, Quebec, Ontario and Western regional divisions. A major program provides development incentives to industry, in the form of cash grants, to encourage new productive employment in designated regions where such employment has been scarce. In 23 special areas, the Department is taking special action to encourage economic development and social adjustment. The Department is also responsible for programs under the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA); the Fund for Rural Economic Development (FRED); and the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act (PFRA) which is concerned with land-use adjustment, water development projects and the establishment of tree shelterbelts. An Atlantic Development Council advises the Minister on programs and policies for fostering economic development and social adjustment in the Atlantic region.

The Department has signed 10-year General Development Agreements with nine provinces (Prince Edward Island remains under FRED) to enable joint action to be initiated. Existing programs now are administered from regional offices at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto and Saskatoon.

The Minister of Regional Economic Expansion reports to Parliament for the Cape Breton Development Corporation, the New Brunswick Multiplex Corporation and the Canadian Council on Rural Development.

**Department of the Secretary of State**. The duties, powers and functions of the Secretary of State of Canada (RSC 1970, c.S-15) extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: citizenship; elections, State ceremonial, the conduct of State correspondence and the custody of State records and documents; the encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

The responsibilities of the Department of the Secretary of State include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: Citizenship; Citizenship Registration; Education Support, Research and Liaison; Language Programs; Arts and Culture; State Protocol and Special Events; Social Action, Travel and Exchange; and Translation Bureau.

The Secretary of State reports to Parliament for the Canadian Film Development Corporation, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Museums of Canada, the Canada Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Company of Young Canadians and the Public Service Commission and acts as spokesman for the Office of the Representation Commissioner. In addition, the Secretary of State is responsible for the financial and administrative affairs of the Bilingual Districts Advisory Board.